March 4th, 2012


Sunday 4th March / 3:30pm / St George’s, Bristol

Following a debut appearance in October 2011, Aurora returns to St George’s Bristol for a performance ranging across cities divided by continents and centuries. Mozart’s monumental ‘Paris’ Symphony sits alongside Strauss’ Metamorphosen, a visceral elegy to the destroyed cities of post-war Germany.  The programme is completed by Iain Farrington’s new arrangement of the Symphonic Dances from West Side Story: a re-scoring for chamber orchestra which evokes the virtuosity and colour of Bernstein’s original pit-band instrumentation for the Broadway show.

This performance is part of Music Nation, a spectacular weekend of music around the UK as part of the 2012 Cultural Olympiad.  Supported by Orchestras Live.

St George’s Bristol
Great George Street off Park Street Bristol BS1 5RR

Mozart Adagio and Fugue in C minor 
R Strauss Metamorphosen
Mozart Symphony No. 31 in D (‘Paris’)
Bernstein (arr. Iain Farrington) Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Nicholas Collon (conductor)

£19(£17) / £17(£15) / £13(£11). Book online or by phone on 0845 40 24 001. Every adult ticket price includes a suggested voluntary donation of £1 to help secure St George’s future.